featuring Alexander von Schlippenbach | Hildegard Kleeb | Ellen Ugelvik | Mikulas Mrva | PMP Orchestra | PMP Ensemble | Dust in the Groove | Doodles I Roland Dahinden

24 | 3 | 2024 | 18:00


Concerts and Workshops

March 19 - 24, 2024

Academy of Performing Arts I DOX

Prague Music Performance regularly initiates and launches premieres of new compositions. However, 6 PREMIERES is an entirely unique event. Six new works by four renowned composers - Roland Dahinden, Didrik Ingvaldsen, Jan Dobiáš, and Dag Magnus Narvesen - will be performed in one night. The audience will have the opportunity to witness completely different compositional approaches. Another dimension to this event is added by the different ways in which each piece will be presented. There will be not only internationally renowned soloists - the legendary German free-jazz pianist Alexander von Schlippenbach, Swiss pianist Hildegard Kleeb, award-winning Norwegian pianist Ellen Ugelvik, Czech experimental musician Mikulas Mrva, but also larger ensembles - the original and variable PMP Orchestra, the PMP Ensemble, and Dust in the Groove

Swiss composer Roland Dahinden's composition Talking With Trane will be performed by pianist Hildegrad Kleeb and the PMP Orchestra. John Coltrane’s compositions Giant Steps, Naima, and Spiral inspired Dahinden to have an imaginary conversation with the aforementioned artist. In his poieces, Dahinden employs rhythmic compression and overlapping scales and extends the specific sound of Coltrane's compositions into an orchestral domain. Another Dahinden composition, Action Music, notated in a graphic score, is inspired in the gestural paintings by Jackson Pollock and will be performed by the group Dust in the Groove

Didrik Ingvaldsen's composition I left Berlin two weeks ago....will be performed by the acclaimed Norwegian pianist Ellen Ugelvik. The rendition will be unique for its improvisational parts, and will be presented with the PMP Orchestra. The other Ingvalsen's composition Mysteries has been inspired by a book written by Knut Hamsun. In his masterpiece of the same name, the author chronicles the story of a stranger who exposes the darkest human instincts and desires. The piece will be performed by the experimental ensemble Dust in the Groove

Norwegian composer and percussionist Dag Magnus Narvesen is the author of the piece Quod est in nomine? He invited the legendary German free-jazz pianist Alexander von Schlippenbach to premiere his work as a soloist. Czech composer Jan Dobiáš composed Dividing the Same for the PMP Ensemble and the Prague choir Doodles



Roland Dahinden, Didrik Ingvalsen, Dag Magnus Narvesen, Jan Dobiáš 



Piano: Alexander von Schlippenbach, Hildegard Kleeb, Ellen Ugelvik 

Percussion: Dag Magnus Narvesen 

Electronics: Mikuláš Mrva



PMP Orchestra, PMP Ensemble, Dust in the Groove, Doodles


Conductor: Roland Dahinden 



General admission 400,-

Student, senior 200,- 

Sponsor admission 1500,-